Skip to content

Doing a Bilan de Compétences – Skills Assessment

February 14, 2011

Cet article existe aussi en français

Having been in France for nearly a year and a half (of which I have spent all of my time either pregnant, the mother of a young baby or on maternity leave), I have concluded that I need to do a Skills Assessment.

Called a “Bilan de Compétences” in France, it is an assessment not only of one’s skills, but an analysis of your career to date, and in some cases, depending upon the methodologies employed, can further dissect one’s life even before the start of the career.

Bilans de Compétence are offered by many organisations, among which some are accessible through the Pôle Emploi (french Job Centre), and some only available to those who choose to go self-funded.

I will be funding my own for two reasons: I am not entitled to a Bilan de Compétences through the Pôle Emploi because I will be shortly starting maternity leave (even though I’m not entitled to any maternity pay, and no dole money either….) – but also because I want this process and experience to be not only an affirming one, but a thorough analysis, rather than an attempt to push me towards one of a relatively limited range of possibilities that might be envisaged by those who usually work with the long-term unemployed.

Perhaps I’m being harsh, thinking I can get this only by going private, but I’m going with my gut instinct. I should, in any case, have invested in some good quality career advice years ago.

More later…. Emily

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sean Ryan permalink
    November 24, 2011 4:23 pm

    Hi Emily

    I saw your posting about doing a bilan des compétences. Did you do one? Was it in French or English? How did it go?

  2. November 24, 2011 4:50 pm

    Sean

    Yes, I did it, it was in French. It was OK, except that the guy doing it really couldn’t, in the end, see beyond my not being French, and veered off it! He suggested I open a business promoting French products (or helping French companies to promote their products) in the UK. He did this without finishing the process.

    This was despite my having carefully selected a company (and counsellor) who’d had an international career – i.e. someone who, I thought, would see beyond my nationality.

    Given that my qualifications fall into two areas that are completely unrelated to marketing (occupational psychology and purchasing), I have taken the Bilan de Compétences with a pinch of salt.

    It’s funny you should mention it, because at this very moment I’m at my computer putting the finishing touches to my own Career Assessment process that I’m going to offer by correspondence (in English). My French is good, but not fluent.

    So how about you, are you thinking of doing a Bilan de Compétences in France? I can offer more positive advice, pointers, etc, if you need.

    Regards
    Emily

Leave a Reply

