Skip to content

Jewellery made today – Rose Gold and Pearl

January 3, 2011

Today I finished a ring I’d made at the weekend, of silver with a bead, which had been the prototype for a rose gold and pearl ring that I’ve been wanting to make for a long time.

I’d bought the piece of gold sheet a while ago while still in the UK (it is difficult to buy gold here and anyway I’m broke!). I’d procured the pearls from a pawnbroker, which was v. good value – they were virtually free, because they were from broken jewellery, but ideal for me! The gold sheet was, I thought, too thin to make a ring that wouldn’t look and feel cheap and insubstantial. However, I knew that I could overcome this with the right design, it just took a while to work it out in my head!

Having been inspired by a cheap but very cheerful ring I bought at a Christmas market here in Lamballe, at the Haras National – “Les Ecuries du Père Noel”, I finally worked out how to turn the piece of sheet gold, with a bit of gold wire that I’m glad I had the foresight to buy, into this ring. I will enjoy it v much, there was a void next to my wedding ring!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 12:16 am

    Wow, that ring has turned out beautifully! You always did have a great, hands-on creative spark. What about jewellery making as a way to make a living out there?

    Best wishes for a happy, healthy 2011!
    Chloe

  2. February 9, 2011 11:13 am

    Happy new year to you too, Chloe!!!

    I could sell jewellery here, but, as in the uk, not as precious metals or stones without disproportionate paperwork and maybe even the need to go away and train!

    I’m working on designs that I can make feasibly to sell relatively cheaply as “bijoux fantaisie” at fairs, etc.

    For anyone else who is interested, there is a jewellery school in Brittany, the Ecole Tané at Ploermel, but its prices are a bit out of my reach, expecially when combined with the travel and childcare costs. For those who are registered “Demandeurs d’Emploi” funding is possible, subject to approval (not an option for me at the moment as I’m about to start my next maternity leave!)

    E

Leave a Reply

